In their first year of competition, 10 students from South Texas Business, Education & Technology Academy (BETA) won the “Best in State” award at the Technology Student Association (TSA) State Competition held May 18-20 in Waco.

In individual events, Junior Daisy De La Cruz of Peņitas triumphed in 2-D Animation with Sound-30 Seconds while Senior Lynnea Rincones of Edinburg victored in Computer Generated Drawing. Junior Evan Brough of Edinburg prevailed in Web Page Commercial and Web Page-School Related.

In team events, Sophomores Mark Salinas of Edinburg and Zach Ruiz of Edinburg captured Computer Generated Art-Black & White while Freshmen Alfonso Ruvalcaba of McAllen and Francisco Saenz of Edinburg claimed Computer Generated 3-D. Juniors Georg Wiese of Edinburg, Pricila Cano of Lyford and Amaris Torres of Edinburg defeated all others in Club T-Shirt.

In individual events, the blue ribbon winners were: Freshman Elaine Campos of Edinburg in Computer Manipulated Digital Image; Freshman Andrea Flores of McAllen in Still Life Photograph-Color and Portrait Photograph-Color; Senior Adriana Garay of Pharr in Journalistic Photo-Documentary; Senior Juan Morales of Mission in Computer Generated Art Single Page (Black & White and Color); Sophomore Cristina Pulido of Edinburg in Invitation; Rincones in Portrait Photograph-Color; and Salinas in Computer Manipulated Digital Image (Individual & Team).

In team events, the blue ribbon went to Cano, Torres and Wiese in Club T-Shirt as well as Sophomores Kassandra Granados of Mission and Sharon Thomas of Edinburg in Magazine Layout.

Further, 19 students received the red ribbon and nine earned the white ribbon in their individual and/or team event.

The red ribbon winners were: Freshman Ana Arrellano of Mission; Freshman Jasmin Bravo of Edinburg; Campos, Sophomore Lia Chorath of Edinburg (two); Sophomore Fabian Cazares of Pharr (two); Senior Crystal De Leon of Edinburg; Flores (two); Garay (three); Granados; Senior Karla Lopez of Edinburg; Morales; Pulido; Senior Mary Renfro of Edinburg; Rincones (six); Sophomore Zach Ruiz of Edinburg; Ruvalcaba (two); Salinas (two); Thomas; and Sophomore Jarred Younce of Edinburg.

The white ribbon winners were: Arrellano; Junior Andrew Blomquist of Edinburg; Campos (two); Cazares; Garay; Renfro (two); Rincones (two); Saenz; and Younce.