Palmer Drug Abuse Program (PDAP) will now be offering state approved DWI classes certified by Texas Department of State Health Services. This class is a requirement in Texas for any person convicted of a first offense DWI. This class can also be taken pre-trial. For some, this class can be taken for the purpose of obtaining a suspended driver’s license. Upon completion of the course, the participant is presented with a Texas State issued number certificate.
Derek French, PDAP Counselor and instructor for the new course, warned, “Even on a first offense, the cost of a DWI is outrageous. Lots of us think it’s just a night in jail and a small fine. In reality, when you total everything up, the cost is at minimum about $9,000.”
Driving While Under the Influence is the driving or operating any motor vehicle or common carrier while under the influence of liquor or narcotics. In 2008, the McAllen Police Department recorded 1,006 DWI arrests.
Myssie Cardenas-Barajas, executive director of Palmer Drug Abuse Program, was enthusiastic about the new class that was available. She stated, “For over twenty years Palmer Drug Abuse Program has helped thousands of local citizens address their substance abuse and addiction issues. By incorporating DWI classes into our existing programs, it gives PDAP a chance to reach out to the first time offenders before they could possibly become habitual offenders.”
Classes are scheduled to begin June at the PDAP “white house” located at 115 N. 9th Street in McAllen. The cost to enroll will be $65 and the participants must register prior to class offerings. For more information, contact the PDAP offices at 956-687-7714.