The Hidalgo County chapter of the Texas Democratic Women (HCTDW) will be meeting Tuesday, May 17, at 5:45 pm at Cornerstone Grill located at 2702 Cornerstone Blvd. (south of Trenton & corner of McColl) in Edinburg.

Hidalgo County Sheriff Lupe Trevino will be the guest speaker. He will discuss women in law enforcement and the treatment of female prisoners in custody at the Hidalgo County jail. He will describe the sheriff's and his deputies' general responsibilities and duties. Sheriff Trevino will discuss security issues of special importance to women. Following the Sheriff's presentation a short general business meeting will be held. The secondary topic for the meeting will be a brief legislative update on the issues under consideration by the 82nd Texas Legislature that will impact our South Texas community. The update will focus on the Texas state budget and offensive "emergency" measures.

The HCTDW Meeting is open to all Democrats, both men and women. For more information contact Rosalie Weisfeld, HCTDW President at email: or call 956-793-5814.

2011 membership re-enrollment and registration will be available. Annual dues are $20. Hot Off the Press!! Members who attend the meeting will receive a new copy of the 2011 HCTDW Membership Directory.

The members of the Hidalgo County chapter of Texas Democratic Women (HCTDW) work to promote increased representation of women in party and government institutions. HCTDW promotes legislative, executive, and judicial policies that enhance equitable representation of women in party and government affairs. In the past year, HCTDW has sponsored training and other support for Democrats working in party organizations, campaigns and/or seeking public office. Everyone who shares a commitment to Democratic principles and ideals is welcome to join. Come see old friends! Make new friends!

The 2011 officers are President Rosalie Weisfeld, Vice-President Corinna Spencer-Scheurich, Co-Recording Secretary Shannon Ortiz and Elizabeth Perkins, Corresponding Secretary Amber Arriaga and Co-Treasurers Leslie Gower and Gracie Elizondo.