The Mission Consolidated Independent School District (CISD) Board of Trustees hosted its annual Mission Academic Excellence Awards Banquet March 23. This banquet and award honors the top five percent of the senior classes from Mission Collegiate High School, Mission High School, and Veterans Memorial High School. Each student is recognized individually by the members of the Board of Trustees.

In addition to honoring the top seniors, each student honoree invites an educator who has been important in their lives to honor as well.

The Mission Academic Excellence Award recipients from Mission Collegiate High School are: Vanessa Guerra, Josue Gutierrez, Citlali Hernandez, Ally Anette Perez, Doris Sarabia.

The Mission Academic Excellence Awards recipients from Mission High School are: Samantha Alaniz, Samantha Banda, Christopher Barboza, Maria Briones, Pricila Cavazos Valdez, Roxanna Cortes, Rizalyn Dela Torre, Leslie Galindo, Edgar Garza, Perla Hernandez, Adan Infante, Leah Lerma, Armando Montemayor, Giselle Ponce, Kimberly Ramon, Samantha Reyna, Juan Rodriguez, Marcela Rodriguez, Victor Romero Menjivar.

The Mission Academic Excellence Awards recipients from Veterans Memorial High School are: Eduardo Raul Alejos, Katelyn Marie Castro, Christyn Alexis Cavazos, Andrea Nicole de la Garza, Nicholas Ryan Dooley, Hiram Duran, Cassandra Gena Galvez, Eric Eliud Gandaria, Kimberly Ann Garza, Jennifer Gonzalez, Gabriel Lozoya, Isaac A. Martinez, David Isaiah Moreno, Mirna Irene Rodriguez, Alexandra Eve Salinas, Dara San Martin, Kellen Robert Shults, Andre Arturo Silva, Judith Abigail Tijerina, Marisa Ashley Tijerina, Andres Miguel Vasquez, Sandra Juanita Vega.

The guest speaker for the event was Crystal Cavazos. She is a 2007 Mission High School graduate and recipient of this award. Cavazos is currently a middle school special education teacher and dance team director for Edinburg CISD.