Early voting for the May 14 city and school elections is underway and continues through May 10.

In the McAllen city and school elections, early voting is being held at Lark Community Centers, 2601 Lark Ave., the City Tax Office (old City Hall), 311 N. 15th St. and Palmview Community Center, 3401 Jordan Ave. Early voting hours are: Wednesday, May 4, through Friday, May 6, from 8 a.m. to 6 p.m.; Saturday, May 7, 8 a.m. to 5 p.m.; and Monday, May 9 and Tuesday, May 10, 7 a.m. to 7 p.m. During the early voting period, citizens may vote at any of the locations.

Candidates in the McAllen School Board Election are: Place 1, Nick Garcia and Debbie Crane Aliseda; Place 2, Renee Hinojosa, Hilda Garza DeShazo and Myrna G. Garcia (i); Place 4, Erica de la Garza and Larry Esparza; Place 5, Allen Watkins and Danny Vela (i).

Candidates for McAllen City Commissioner are: District 4, Aida Ramirez and Claudia E. Rios (who has withdrawn from the race but is still listed on the ballot); District District 5, John Ingram (uncontested); and District 6, Pepe Cabeza de Vaca and Jim Darling.

Candidates for McAllen Public Utility Board of Trustees are: Place B, Tony Aguirre Jr. and Sara Winningham; Place C, Trey Pebley (uncontested); and Place D (unexpired term), Jaime Enriquez and Ernie Williams. The PUB races are citywide, so voters from all districts may vote in these races.