The National Center for Educational Achievement has identified Dr. Rodney D. Cathey Middle School and Sam Rayburn Elementary as 2010 NCEA Higher Performing Schools.

The principals of these schools were recognized at a McAllen School Board meeting Feb. 21. The National Center for Educational Achievement (NCEA) is a non-profit, non-partisan ACT organization whose mission is to help students reach College and Career Readiness.

NCEA carries out data analysis, research, advocacy, and program development that promote high academic standards and student achievement throughout all grades to help more students reach college and career readiness. NCEA uses the knowledge gained from these areas of focus to promote the critical transfer of knowledge from schools that are succeeding in raising academic standards and student achievement to the many schools and districts that strive to improve their academic results.

Pictured from left to right are Myrna Garcia, School Board member; Mark Kent, School Board member; Dr. James Ponce, Superintendent; Sam Saldivar Jr., School Board member; Nancy Dillard, Rayburn Principal; Richard Moore, School Board member; Dr. Jose Gonzalez, Cathey Principal; Daniel Vela, School Board President; and Dr. Joseph Caporusso, School Board Vice President.