The best players in the Valley gathered Sunday for one last hurrah, with a pair Lady Jags getting the sendoff on their home court. The 10th annual East-West Senior Volleyball Showcase featured five city kids in action, led by Econ seniors Kayla Silva and Lexi Barreiro.

Silva, named second team All-Valley last week, is the Review’s MVP for 2010-11 after pacing the squad to the second round of the playoffs. Along with Barreiro, a three-year starter at setter, were Christy Brandt and Cynthia Granado of North plus Beckah Rodriguez of EHS.

Silva improved each season, getting the most out of her outstanding athletic ability and coming into her own as a vital team leader down the stretch. She started for Coach Celi Rios-Ortega from her freshman season, and has gotten some looks from colleges around Texas.

It was a fitting end to a volley campaign in which all three local units made the postseason, and all three schools have designs on a return to the glory next season. For the Lady Jags (26-5), junior-to-be Leigha Brown was named first team All-Valley and District 31-5A Offensive Player of the Year, countering the loss of four starters in Orange.

North (22-8) returns Jessica Martinez and Vanessa Salazar, the All-Valley Newcomer of the Year, while losing Brandt. EHS (20-12) will build around a strong underclass led Myranda Hinojosa, heading into her junior season, and say farewell to respected veteran Rodriguez. Anissa Gonzalez and Tori de Leon made the All-District team and will be back in action for the Lady ‘Cats.



COACH OF THE YEAR: Celi Rios-Ortega, Econ

MB: Leigha Brown (soph) Econ

MB: Christy Brandt, North

OH: Jessica Martinez (jr.) North

OH: Beckah Rodriguez, EHS

OH: Aleena Cubriel, North

LIB: Vanessa Salazar (soph) North

SET: Myranda Hinojosa (soph) EHS

(Note: Brown, Brandt and Silva made the second All-Valley squad)


Offensive Player of the Year: Brown, Econ

Newcomer of the Year: Salazar, North

Libero of the Year: Kayla Longoria, Econ

First Team: Hinojosa of EHS; Brandt, Cubriel, Martinez of North; Silva and Lexi Barreiro of Econ

Second Team: Anissa Gonzalez (jr.), Tori de Leon (jr.) and Rodriguez of EHS; Kayla Banda of Econ