Ten Region One area students have been named recipients of the Region One ESC Texas Energy Center Scholarship. For the tenth consecutive year, the Region One ESC energy cooperative, Texas Energy Center (TEC) awarded ten graduating seniors $1,000 scholarships to assist them in their pursuit of a four-year degree at a university or college. Of the 50 applications received, a select committee chose ten (10) students based on their academic achievement, community participation, and a written essay on energy savings and their school district. To be eligible for the scholarship, students must graduate from a high school in a TEC participating school district.

The 2016 scholarship winners are: Victoria Burns, Lyford High School (Lyford ISD ), John Rivera, Lyford High School (Lyford CISD), Andres Castillo, BETA(South Texas ISD), Esteban Flores, Science Academy (South Texas ISD), Karina Farias, Veterans Memorial High School (Mission CISD), Rene Olivarez, Veterans Memorial HS (Mission CISD), Daniela Guzman, Veterans Memorial High School (Mission CISD), Adriana Lopez, Sharyland High School (Sharyland ISD), Kenneth Miller, Los Fresnos High School, (Los Fresnos CISD), and Anyssa Villarreal, Vela High School (Edinburg CISD).

Since the deregulation of electricity in 2002, the Region One Education Service Center has provided school districts the opportunity to save money on utility costs by participation in the Texas Energy Center, a consortium of school districts and municipalities. In addition to saving money, benefits of the Texas Energy Center include a focus on one utility, a greater number of eligible suppliers; greater control over contract structure; bidding process management; direct access to expert consultants; and working with local companies.

Region One area Texas Energy members are: Donna ISD, Edinburg CISD, Edcouch-Elsa ISD, Hidalgo ISD, La Feria ISD, La Joya ISD, Laredo ISD, La Villa ISD, Los Fresnos CISD, Lyford CISD, McAllen ISD, Mission CISD, Monte Alto ISD, PSJA ISD, Point Isabel ISD, PSJA ISD, Raymondville ISD, Region One ESC, Rio Hondo ISD, Santa Rosa ISD, Sharyland ISD, South Texas ISD, South Texas Education Technologies, Inc., and Zapata County ISD.