MISSION – The Leo Najo Old Timers Baseball organization will celebrate their 46th Leo Najo Day Saturday Oct. 7 from 11 a.m. to 3 p.m. at the Mission Community Center.

The 2017 inductees for the Leo Najo Baseball Hall of Fame are Jimmy Dodd, Southmost College baseball coach that took his team from Brownsville to the 1977 Junior College World Series in Grand Junction, Colorado.

Other inductees include: Milo Guerra (McAllen – Southmost College), Oscar Guzman (PSJA – Southmost College), Thomas G. Ochoa (La Joya), Hector Rios (Edinburg – Pan American University), Greg Rodriguez (Rio Grande City – Highlands Community College), Teddy Saenz (McAllen – Livingston University), John Thobe (McAllen – Pan American College) and Thomas Villarreal Jr. (San Manuel – Highlands University).

Special recognition will be given to Manuel Hinojosa a Texas baseball historian who grew up near the Mission 30-30 ball park during the 1950s and 1960s. Also receiving recognition will be Craig Smith, Eddie Martinez, Omar Rivera and Noe Torres.

Torres wrote a book on Leo Najo and is currently the librarian at McAllen high school.

Admission is free and making a special appearance will be the 1957 Little League World Champions from Monterrey, Mexico.