PHARR - The Texas Education Agency today announced the nomination of 26 Texas public schools for the National 2018 Blue Ribbon Schools recognition. Pharr-San Juan-Alamo ISD's Carmen Anaya Elementary and Cesar Chavez Elementary, both in south Pharr are part of this select few. 

Founded in 1982, Blue Ribbon Schools is a US Department of Education Program that recognizes public and private elementary, middle and high schools where students perform at very high levels or where exemplary progress has been made toward closing achievement gaps. 

The nominated schools must now complete a rigorous application process through the US Department of Education. Announcements of the national award winners will be made in September 2018. Schools that receive the award are recognized at the Blue Ribbon Schools awards ceremony in Washington, DC.

"Both Anaya and Chavez Elementary have consistently excelled over the years in both academia and extracurricular activities," said Dr. Daniel King, PSJA ISD Superintendent of Schools. "Campus leadership, faculty and staff at both locations have become great examples of what working as a team toward a common goal can help you accomplish. We commend them for this nomination and support them as they work to receive the award."