ALAMO – Three PSJA Memorial Early College High School orchestra students have been named 2018 Texas Music Scholars by the Texas Music Educators Association. Jae Diego Garcia-Herrera, Galilea Salinas and Robert Zuniga will be honored at a special ceremony on Monday, May 21, 2018.

The Texas Music Educators Association (TMEA) engages over 13,000 music teachers whose goals are to support music education in Texas, provide professional growth opportunities for educators, foster public support for music in schools and offer quality musical experiences for students. The TMEA Texas Music Scholar Award specifically honors students in high school music programs who exemplify attributes of meritorious performance in the areas of scholarship, musicianship, and citizenship.

The three students were nominated by PSJA Memorial ECHS Director Martin Treviño for their outstanding dedication to their music:


Galilea Salinas, 10th grade, Viola


Robert Zuniga, 11th grade, Cello


Jae Diego Garcia-Herrera, 11th grade, Violin