City leaders credit an engaged community for the honor

City leaders are proud to announce Mission has been selected as a finalist for the 2019 All-America City Award (AAC). The City of Mission is one of only five Texas towns chosen for this prestigious honor.

“We could not be more proud to be hand-picked as a finalist. These are thriving American communities from the largest cities to the smallest towns, and it is an honor to be selected,” Mayor Dr. Armando O’Caña said. “We represent the best this nation has to offer, and I congratulate our community for making it this far.”

The award, given to 10 communities each year, celebrates and recognizes neighborhoods, villages, towns, cities, counties, tribes and regions that engage residents in innovative, inclusive and effective efforts to tackle critical challenges.

Finalist communities include the 4th largest city in America (Houston, TX) to a city of only 3,500 people (Gothenburg, NE). The 20 finalists share a common bond of working to create healthy communities through inclusive civic engagement.

"These finalist communities are building healthy communities through collaboration with residents, businesses and other stakeholders. While many people are concerned about the ability of our nation to improve lives, these communities are showing that great things can happen at the local level," said National Civic League President, Doug Linkhart.

The City of Mission submitted a lengthy application that addressed such issues as economic development, health initiatives, and building stronger neighborhoods.

“This is a huge accomplishment for the City of Mission,” said City Manager Randy Perez. “It is a fitting recognition of the work being done by our Mayor, City Council and the residents of our great community.”

The 20 finalist communities will compete this June to be recognized as one of ten All-America Cities for 2019. Each community will bring a team of residents, nonprofit leaders, business representatives, government officials and young people to participate in presentations and workshops for three days in Denver, Colorado. The 2019 spotlight for the award is efforts focused on inclusive engagement practices that create healthy communities for all.

These are the finalist cities:


Mission, Texas


Battle Creek, Michigan


Clinton, North Carolina


Cornelius, Oregon


Doral, Florida


Dubuque, Iowa


Edinburg, Texas


El Paso, Texas


Gothenburg, Nebraska


Hallandale Beach, Florida


Houston, Texas


Livingston County, New York


Millcreek, Utah


Ontario, California


Pasco, Washington


Rancho Cordova, California


Rock Hill, South Carolina


San Antonio, Texas


West Hollywood, California


Wichita, Kansas