It has been another “Banner Year” of success and achievement for ECISD students at both the elementary and secondary levels.

Every school at every level made a difference in the lives their students.

ECISD Board of Trustees and Central Administration is proud of what our teachers, principals, and parents did in the 2008-2009 school year to make a difference in the educational success of the children. It was through their perseverance and teamwork that they were able to build the minds and hearts of the students and give them the motivation and courage to learn without limitations.

The 2008-2009 school year started out with accolades. The Texas Education Agency recognized the success of our elementary schools in mastering the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) test and categorized 12 of our schools as Exemplary and 15 as Recognized, more than any other school district in the Region One service area. That TEA announcement was the harbinger of many good things that were to come in our all schools in the new school year.

There were countless dozens of student and campus successes and achievements that brought recognition to students, teachers, and schools.

Some of those successes and achievements included:

? Edinburg North High School, a College Board Inspiration Award School, was listed in U.S. News and World Report’s Silver Medal recipient list of “America’s Best High Schools” for the second year in a row.

? Edinburg North High School listed among Newsweek’s “Top Five Percent Schools in the Nation.”

? Edinburg High School, a College Board Inspiration Award School, received the 2008 College Readiness Award for increasing the numbers of students taking the ACT Assessment over the last five years.

Academically speaking, 27 Edinburg North High School students were named Advanced Placement Scholars. AP scholars included: Nora Avalos, Alejandro Balderas, Julia Cantu, Dina Contreras, Salomon Gomez, Benjamin Guzman, Eric Haworth, Samuel Hernandez, Angela Keebaugh, Rafael Castillo, Rene Castro, Partick Eroni, Andrea Fabre-Enriquez, Gilberto Lopez, Aaron Medina, Michael Ortega, Albert Ortiz, Benjamin Salinas, William Garces, Rogelio Garcia, Steven Garza, David Gaspar, Heidy Salinas, Rene Salinas, Jose Vera, Pedro Vera, and Ricardo Villescas.

ENHS students Alejandro Balderas, Angela Keebaugh, Joe Vera, and Rogelio Garcia were recognized as Advanced Placement Students with Honor. ENHS students Salomon Gomez, Samuel Hernandez, Gilberto Lopez, Steven Garza, Pedro Vera, Andrea Fabre-Enriquez, and Aaron Medina were recognized as Advanced Placement Scholars with Distinction. ENHS students Steven Garza, Pedro Vera, Gilberto Lopez, and Aaron Medina were recognized as National Advanced Placement Scholars.

Over at Edinburg High School, 24 students were named Advanced Placement Scholars. AP scholars included: Juan Cantu, Pablo Castillo, James Cazares, Jaime Cortez, Andrea de la Vega, Andrea Delgado, Mellisa Eberlein, Lauren Elizondo, Aaron Flores, Nayssa Flores, Ashley Garza, Erin Guerra, David Hinojosa, Andrea Jimenez, Elizabeth Mendoza, Juan Morales, Nancy Ortega, Clarissa Rivas, Alfredo Trejo,and Ricardo Villarreal.

EHS student Benjamin Gallegos was recognized as an Advanced Placement Student with Honor. EHS students Arne Guerra and Patrick Zerda were recognized as Advanced Placement Scholars with Distinction. EHS student Michael Haskins was recognized as a National Advanced Placement Scholar.

EHS students Shelby Alvarado, Melissa Eberlein, Benjamin Gallegos, Gabriel Galloso, and Alfredo Trejo recognized by the National Hispanic Recognition Program (NHRP) as PSAT/NMSQT National Hispanic Scholars.

There was also success at the elementary level. Ten ECISD elementary schools were named Title One Distinguished Performance, Part A Schools by the TEA, more than any other district in the Region One service area.

Thirty-five elementary and secondary schools received Gold Performance Acknowledgements from the TEA for high academic performance in 14 different categories. Twenty elementary schools and a middle school recognized as Reading Renaissance Master Schools.

Austin, Zavala, Esparza elementary schools and B.L. Garza Middle School were recognized by the Creative Education Institute (CEI) for having “Exemplary” computer learning labs. Zavala Elementary School was recognized for having an “Exemplary” CEI computer learning lab for the ninth year in a row. Austin, Canterbury, Jefferson, and Trevino elementary schools were named to the 2008 Texas Business Education Coalition (TBEC) Honor Roll. Jefferson Elementary School recognized by the University of Texas — Pan American Border Health Office for contributions made to the UTPA Border Health Office on a successful 2008-2009 Student Enrollment Program.

Every school across the vast Edinburg school district is a foundation for learning by students.