Music-lovers who missed the South Texas Youth Symphony Concert Jan. 31 need to mark their calendars.

The winter concert was their best yet. Now there will be a second one, the spring concert, Sunday, May 2.

Maestro Peter Dabrowski, music director for both the Valley Symphony and the South Texas Youth Symphony, has worked wonders. In eight years he has challenged the youth to perform difficult classics and master them.

“Familiar masterworks are comforting,” Dabrowski said. “They often bring us great memories. Unfamiliar music is sometimes difficult to accept. The important thing to remember is that all music affects us. Music is the universal language. It speaks directly to our hearts, minds and souls. Music has the power to change lives.”

He proved what he said this year by tossing them big-time classic composers like Copland, Hayden, Schubert, Gershwin and others.

The South Texas Youth Septet featured Patrick Kim, Jose Minjares, Nibarika Pereira, Abraham Masso, Josephine Ansved, Victor Garza, Elizabeth Garcia, directed by Salvador Marmolejo. The Omega Quartet featured Saul Regalado, Abel Ocanas, Jose Noriega and Victor Rodriguez.

The first violin, Patrick Kim, and the second, Andy Kim, did a fine job as concertmaster and assistant concertmaster. The others are listed below by instrument played:

First violin—Orlando De Leon, Ariza Martinez, Gina Okada, Jeanette Ornelas and Zach Weber.

Second violin— Angie C. Garcia, Manuel Beto Brown, Camila Fabela, Michelle Koh, Grace Lee, Fiona Okada and Nathan H. Smith.

Violas—Jose Minjares, Alexandra D. Garza, Andrew Valdez and Jeremy Wenzel.

Cellos—Niharika Pereira, Elizabeth Choi, Benny Dominguez, John Lee, Stephanie Lee, Katherine Soh and Esther Seitz.

Bass—Dulce M. Salazar, Victoria Perez, Josue A. Martinez and Abraham Masso.

Flute—Josephine Ansved, Yoonha Jeong, Rachel Koh.

Oboe—Dawn Iglesias, Sara Vicinaiz, James Alaniz.

Clarinets—Victor Garza, Alex Canepa and Clarisa de la Garza.

Bassoon—Elizabeth Garcia.

Horn—Jorge Gutierrez, Catherine Cantu and Gabriella Gamez.

Trumpet—Ryan Wygant, Procopio Garcia and Ruben Hays.

Trombone—Advento Barrera, Jesus Gallegos, Eric Gomez and Arturo Salinas.

Tuba—Jose Noriega.

Percussion—Brittany Averack, Jesus Cervantes Jr., Jesus Gonzalez III and Jacobo Ramon.