The South Texas Youth Symphony ended the spring semester with a record attendance and bold new music at the concert May 2 at the University of Texas-Pan American.

The Sunday concert was directed by guest conductor Jose Luis Hernandez-Estrada, a classical pianist and director. He founded the largest community youth orchestra in Mexico in the City of Reynosa, across the Rio Grande from McAllen. He is a master of music degree candidate at UT-Pan American.

Maestro Peter Dabrowski serves as music director and conductor of the South Texas Youth Symphony. He will begin his 10th season with the Valley Symphony Orchestra in the Fall semester.

The Valley can expect a new level of performance from these young musicians when they return for a new season in the fall. The large audience gave prolonged applause and two standing ovations for the Youth Symphony’s performance.

Classics like Schubert and Borodin were well applauded, but “The Best of the Beatles” were cheered to the ceiling.

The program opened with a performance by a group of young children called “Success Through Strings,” who were accompanied by the string section of the South Texas Youth Symphony.

Pianist Salvador Marmolejo played “Brooke Nonet for Winds and Contra Bass.” He is in his seventh season with the Valley Symphony Orchestra and is librarian for the orchestra.

Members of the Youth Orchestra follow. (Note: First chair is *, assistant concertmaster**, and concertmaster***.) Violin I: Zachary Weber***, Andy Kim**, Eric Martinez, Ariza Martinez, Chris Villarreal, Jeanette Ornelas, Gina Okata, Orlando De Leon.

Violin II: Angie C. Garcia*, Michelle Koh, Camila Fabela, Grace Le, Fiona Olkarda, Nathan H. Smith, Sam Oakley.

Viola: Alexandra D. Garza*, Jose Minjares, Jeremy Wenzel, Andrew Valdez, Valerie Lopez.

Cello: Niharika Pereira*, Katherine Son, Benny Dominguez, Elizabeth Choi, Anita Villarreal, Jonathon Valdez, John Lee, Stephanie Lee, Matthew Gabriel.

Bass: Dulce Marie Salazar*, Abraham Masso, Josue A. Martinez, Victoria Jade Perez.

Piccolo: Crystal M. Flores.

Flute: Josefina Ansved*, Yohna Jeong, Rachel Koh.

Oboe: Dawn Iglesias*, Sara Vicinaiz, James Alaniz.

Clarinets: Victor Garza*, Clarissa de la Garza, Alex Canepa.

Bassoons: Elizabeth Garcia*, Geronimo Garcia.

Horn: Jorge Gutierrez*, Gabriela Gamez, Jeremy Polley, John Filipone

Trumpets: Ruben Hays*, Procopio Garcia.

Trombones: Mario Partida*, Arturo Salinas, Jonathan Padron.

Tuba: Osvaldo Lopez.

Percussion: Osvaldo Lopez.